Rep. Severin Announces Energy Transition Grant Awarded to White County

BENTON – State Representative Dave Severin (R-Benton) announced this week that the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity is awarding an Energy Transition Program Grants to White County, totaling $1,207,426 million.

The grant was made available due to the enactment of the Climate and Equitable Jobs Act (CEJA). Energy Transition Program Grants provide funding for local government entities and communities that have been impacted by fossil fuel plant or coal mine closures or significant reductions.

“I worked closely with White County officials to ensure their grant application was completed and arrived on time, and I am thankful that White County government is receiving some financial help to lessen the impact of the loss of revenue experienced due to the closures of coal-fired power plants and coal mines,” Severin said. “I did not support the Climate and Equitable Jobs Act because I believe its policies toward fossil fuels harm Southern Illinois’ residents and employers, and threaten our ability to produce sufficient baseload energy. However, I am fighting to make sure that communities impacted by the law are getting their fair share of grant funding to help bridge the financial gap that was created by CEJA’s enactment.”

Energy Transition Program Grant awards were calculated based on the economic impact of plant or mine closure, specifically, property tax losses and jobs lost due to the plant transition, with a minimum award of $50,000.